I remember when I was a little girl, my mom used to tell me, “You always have to be contrary! You just do the opposite of what you’re supposed to do!” And I remember thinking at the time that she was wrong. And then I had a daughter of my own, and I had a new sympathy for my poor mother! 🙂

But maybe she was right, and I always have been contrary. Because when I see these constant pictures of “menswear-inspired” and “menswear fabrics” fashion, I hate it. I really do. I know, I’m supposed to be all fashion-forward and stuff, but I just pray this menswear thing runs its course quickly.

Ralph Lauren

I don’t WANT to dress like a man! I want to dress like a woman! I want clothes that fit my figure in fabrics that flatter my body! I want my clothes to make me feel beautiful and feminine!

And perhaps the most egregious example of my backwards thinking is my absolute addiction to all things “girly” these days! I want something that’s pretty and feminine, but not something that’s too juvenile. I am, after all, a woman! So I like feminine accents: a hint of lace at the top of a camisole, or a cute little ruffle on a pair of boots.

With that in mind, I present to you my Pretties for this week!

008S03a

008S01a

005O02dSo I’m begging you, fashion designers, to take a stand and be different. Manolo Blahnik has famously refused to ever again make platforms, despite the current trends toward platforms on everything! He says, “‘I hate platforms. The young girl who is a bit chubby, or whatever, she thinks platforms make her look taller. But no, they just make her look weird.”

Well, I say that there aren’t many women who look fabulous in menswear-inspired designs (especially some of the shapeless, bland, dull looks we saw at Fashion Week New York!). So I for one would like to see more designs that make women look and feel beautiful!

Do you agree? Or do you think I’m over-reacting?

 

